Stop-off… Cistercian

In the footsteps of a Cistercian! from the Abbey of Pontigny, Cîteaux’s second daughter, to its satellite sites, discover the very rich and diverse Cistercian heritage of our region!

First day

Hiking « Sur les pas des Cisterciens » at Tanlay – Departure from Hall Square Place – 15,4 km: With this hike discover all the assets of our territory: the village of Tanlay and its magnificent castle of French Renaissance style, the Burgundy Canal and its greenway, our forests and paths … You will even pass by the Cistercian Abbey of Quincy and the paths taken by the monks at the time, some planned to flee more easily in case of conflict.

Further information

Bistrot « La Basse Cour » at Tanlay: This charming bistro welcomes you around a local meal accompanied by the best wines of the region. Dishes of the day and homemade pastries, aperitif dinner … You can enjoy their terrace and some concerts organized on summer evenings.

Further information
Find all restaurants

Visit of the Abbey of Quincy (Open in July and August) 

Daughter of Pontigny, founded in 1133 in a valley removed from Tonnerrois, the Abbey of Notre-Dame de Quincy and its valley has kept all its authenticity: the hostellerie, part of the cloister buildings of the twelfth and fifteenth centuries, the Renaissance abbey home, testify to the sobriety and rigor of Cistercian art.

Further information

Tasting at the domain of the Abbey of Petit Quincy at Épineuil

In this Cistercian stop you will pass by the domain of the Abbey of Petit Quincy created in 1212 by Cistercian monks. The Abbey is a welcoming place in a sumptuous setting. This estate has regained its viticultural vocation thanks to the Gruhier family in 1990. Today Dominique offers tastings as well as pleasant activities to do alone, with family or friends!

Further information

Panorama on the Montbellan at Tonnerre: On the Montbellan at Saint Pierre church in Tonnerre: Take the stairs at the end of the street of the Fosse Dionne and reach the church square to admire the view of Tonnerre and its surroundings.

Dinner and bed and breakfast at the Abbaye – Tonnerre: Enjoy a traditional French bistronomic cooking open to the scents of the world. The Chef’s menu offers dishes thought with care and passion. The menu is renewed each season with fresh, carefully selected and home-cooked products.

Multi-faceted place enjoy their bed and breakfast for one or more nights with a sumptuous setting in modern and comfortable rooms.

Further information
Find all accommodation

Second day

Visit of Pontigny Abbey: On the way to visit the Abbey of Pontigny. You can explore the places for free visit or choose to make a guided tour with the association “The Friends of Pontigny”. Take a walk through the gardens where only the singing of birds breaks the soothing silence that reigns here. The purity of the stone and the austerity of the place perfectly illustrate the Cistercian order.

Further information

Visit of the Barn of Beauvais: The monastery of the Abbey of Pontigny had an important property inheritance whose essence is grouped in “cellars” and “barns”. These were inhabited and enhanced by the lay brothers. An association “the barn of Beauvais” ensures the restoration and animation of the place. A garden of medieval inspiration, a conservatory of the vine such are, among others, his projects that will soon see the light of day.

Further information

 

Les 2 lions at Pontigny : A lunch in the heart of the village of Pontigny, a unique setting, a creative and exotic cuisine, this is what offers you Romuald and Kunal the emblematic chefs of the restaurant. On the menu: saffron beef, mexican bison, lamb with truffles and plantain curry … enough to revive your taste buds!

Further information
Find all restaurants

Visit of the Reigny Abbey: In an exceptional green setting on the edge of the Cure discover the Cistercian Abbey of Reigny. It was founded in 1128 and was very powerful and prosperous in the Middle Ages. A must see: its exceptional refectory of the fourteenth century (there are only three examples in France!).

Further information

Escale … cistercienne

Dans les pas d’un cistercien ! de l’Abbaye de Pontigny, deuxième fille de Cîteaux, à ses sites satellites, découvrez le très riche et diversifié patrimoine cistercien de notre région !

Le 1er jour

Randonnée « Sur les pas des Cisterciens » à Tanlay – Départ Place de la mairie – 15,4 km

Avec cette randonnée, découvrez tous les atouts de notre territoire : le village de Tanlay et son magnifique château de style Renaissance Française, le Canal de Bourgogne et sa voie verte, nos forêts et chemins… Vous passerez même par l’abbaye cistercienne de Quincy et les chemins empruntés par les moines à l’époque, certains prévus pour fuir plus facilement en cas de conflits.

> Plus d’infos sur la randonnée

REPAS –

Bistrot « La Basse Cour » – Tanlay 

Ce charmant bistrot vous accueille autour d’un repas du terroir, accompagné des meilleurs vins de la région. Plats du jour et pâtisseries « fait maison », apéro dinatoire… Vous pourrez profiter de leur terrasse et des quelques concerts organisés les soirs d’été.

> Déjeuner à la Basse-Cour
> Retrouver tous les restaurants

Visite de l’Abbaye de Quincy (ouverte en juillet et août) 

Fille de Pontigny, fondée en 1133 dans un vallon retiré du Tonnerrois, l’abbaye Notre-Dame de Quincy et sa vallée a gardé toute son authenticité : l’hostellerie, une partie des bâtiments claustraux des XIIème et XVème siècles, le logis abbatial Renaissance, témoignent de la sobriété et de la rigueur de l’art cistercien.

> Visiter l’Abbaye de Quincy  

Dégustation au Domaine de l’Abbaye du Petit Quincy à Épineuil

Dans cette escale cistercienne, vous passerez par le Domaine de l’Abbaye du Petit Quincy, créée en 1212 par des moines cisterciens. L’Abbaye est un lieu accueillant dans un cadre somptueux. Ce Domaine a retrouvé sa vocation viticole grâce à la famille Gruhier en 1990. Aujourd’hui Dominique vous propose des dégustations, ainsi que des activités agréables à faire en solo, en famille ou entre amis !

> Dégustation à l’Abbaye du Petit Quincy  
> Retrouver tous les domaines

Panorama sur le Montbellan à Tonnerre 

Sur le Montbellan à l’église Saint Pierre de Tonnerre : empruntez les escaliers au bout de la rue de la Fosse Dionne et atteignez le parvis de l’église pour admirer la vue sur Tonnerre et ses alentours.

Repas et chambre d’hôtes à l’Abbaye à Tonnerre

Appréciez une cuisine bistronomique traditionnelle française, ouverte sur les parfums du monde. La carte du Chef vous propose des plats pensés avec soin et passion. La carte est renouvelée à chaque saison avec des produits frais, minutieusement sélectionnés et cuisinés maison. ​

Lieu aux multiples facettes, bénéficiez de leurs chambres d’hôtes le temps d’une ou plusieurs nuits, avec un cadre somptueux aux chambres modernes et confortables.

> Dîner à l’Abbaye
> Retrouver tous les restaurants
> Chambres d’hôtes de l’Abbaye
> Retrouver tous les hébergements  

Le 2ème jour

Visite de l’Abbaye de Pontigny

En route pour la visite de l’Abbaye de Pontigny. Vous pourrez explorer les lieux en visite libre ou choisir de faire une visite guidée avec l’association « Les Amis de Pontigny ». Faites un tour par les jardins où seul le chant des oiseaux vient rompre le silence apaisant qui règne ici. La pureté de la pierre et l’austérité du lieu illustrent parfaitement l’ordre cistercien.

> Visiter l’Abbaye de Pontigny

Visite de la Grange de Beauvais

Le monastère de l’abbaye de Pontigny disposait d’un important patrimoine foncier, dont l’essentiel est regroupé en « celliers » et en « granges ». Celles-ci étaient habitées et mises en valeur par les frères convers. Une association « la grange de Beauvais » assure la restauration et l’animation du lieu. Un jardin d’inspiration médiévale, un conservatoire de la vigne tels sont, entre autres, ses projets qui verront bientôt le jour.

> Visiter la Grange de Beauvais

 

Les 2 lions à Pontigny : un déjeuner en plein cœur du village de Pontigny, un cadre unique, une cuisine créative et exotique, c’est ce que vous propose Romuald et Kunal, les patrons emblématiques du restaurant. Au menu : pièce de bœuf safrané, pièce de bison à la mexicaine, agneau aux truffes et son curry plantain… De quoi raviver vos papilles !

> Déjeuner au restaurant les 2 lions
> Retrouver tous les restaurants

Visite de l’Abbaye de Reigny

Dans un exceptionnel cadre de verdure, en bordure de la Cure, découvrez l’Abbaye Cistercienne de Reigny. Celle-ci fut fondée en 1128 et fut très puissante et prospère au Moyen Age. A voir absolument :  son exceptionnel réfectoire du XIVe siècle (il n’en reste que trois exemples en France !).

>Visiter l’Abbaye de Reigny